About us

Round Table Suriname

The Roundtable Suriname is a member of Round Table International and was founded in Paramaribo, Suriname on 14 July 1955 by Mr. Ab Judell. In line with Round Table International we are a social networking and charitable club which consists of men in the age category 25 plus – early 40’s who value friendship, fun, charity and personal development. Currently we have 27 active members from different professions, positions and industries  in our organization. Together we strive to foster local and international friendship in order to have fun and enjoy life, to learn from each other and to add value to our community.


Short History

The first Round Table was formed in Norwich, England in 1927. The founder, Louis Marchesi, was a young member of the Norwich Rotary Club who felt there was a need for a club aimed more at the younger businessmen of the town. His vision was for them to exchange ideas, learn from the experiences of their colleagues, and together contribute to the civic life of the town.

From the beginning, the Round Table was a non-religious, non-political, and non-sectarian club, an ethos that still underpins the movement today.

Round Table International

Round Table is a social networking and charitable worldwide organization for men in their 20s, 30s and early 40s, founded in Norwich, England in 1927. It is open to all men aged between 18 and 45 (originally 40, which is still retained as the age limit in some countries outside the United Kingdom and Ireland). Membership of Table provides a selection of social and community service related opportunities for its members, who come from all parts of the community.

The name "Round Table" is not directly drawn from Arthurian Legend; rather both its title and its maxim comes from a speech made to the British Industries Fair in 1927 by the then Prince of Wales 'The young business and professional men of this country must get together round the table, adopt methods that have proved so sound in the past, adapt them to the changing needs of the times and wherever possible, improve them'. The phrase "adopt, adapt, improve" is a key facet of the organization, and is often seen on Round Table literature and regalia.

The Round Table is a truly international movement, with active members in most European countries, as well as Africa, the Middle East, India, Hong Kong, New Zealand, and the USA. In fact, there are Round Table clubs on every continent.